Playful 2012

This year I finally made it to Playful, an event I’d heard so much about that I was almost exploding with enthusiasm.  My anticipation was amply rewarded with a generous supply of tea and biscuits.

A few highlights:

  • Mark Sorrell‘s round up of “computer mediated games” (NOT video games), including the frankly astonishing Dark Room Sex Game
  • Siobhan Reddy’s preview of Tearaway, the stunning PlayStation Vita game from the same stable as Little Big Planet
  • Bennet Foddy, creator of QWOP and CLOP, explaining that games don’t need to be *fun* – no pain, no gain, kids!

If you like, have a look at my Prezi, produced to share my thoughts on the day with the lovely folk at Essence.

Sadly I missed the last couple of sessions: other, better write ups are available from the likes of Mary Hamilton, Engine and PHD.

Leave a comment