She & Him at Koko

A free ticket, courtesy of the delightful Black Plastic. Loveliness. I must admit, I’m a relatively new convert to She & Him, but I was rather taken aback by the power of their live show. I expected some bouncy, poppy, happy songs. I got a few of those, plus some utterly spellbinding stripped-down material. Yes, the band was more a distraction than an asset. Yes, it was an irritatingly fanboy crowd, who kept shouting “we want your babies” and over-vigourously applauding over the quiet bits. But when we did finally get to hear a simple duet, with two voices and the rich rumble of a guitar in the background, it was pretty magical. I might now be a little bit in love with Zooey Deschanel, but at least I’m in good company.

Incidentally, the last time I was at Koko it was to see Los Campesinos, who were marvellous. Also, the lovely people from Winkball were interviewing the crowd outside. See if you can spot me…

2 responses to “She & Him at Koko

  1. I am, I admit, utterly in love with Zooey Deschanel (and maybe even a little bit with M Ward), but by Christ she can really sing, can’t she!

Leave a Reply

