Deerhoof at the Scala

Deerhoof were, as ever, amazing. I last saw them at ULU last December, and was so impressed I couldn’t wait to see them again. This time the sound levels were better, I was closer to the front, and they played with more energy than ever.

Guitars over heads.

Guitars over heads.

Stomping.

Stomping.

You know it's been good when the band is horizontal by the end of the show.

You know it's been good when the band is horizontal by the end of the show.

Furthermore, the support acts were good too. Anabel’s Poppy Day were perhaps an acquired taste, but Rumspringa were instantly mesmerizing. They have a MySpace, but you can also download the free EP from the Rumspringa website. I racked my brains trying to remember where I had heard them before, then realised: they provided the soundtrack (minus lyrics) to one of my favourite animations of 2008.

I strongly recommend seeing Rumspringa live – there may be only two of them, but they pack a fair punch.

2 responses to “Deerhoof at the Scala

  1. I have had “Panda Panda Panda” stuck in my head for days, and it’s *all your fault*.

Leave a Reply

