Harrison Bergeron – 2081

Last weekend I finally got round to watching The Man From Earth, on Sam Stokes’ recommendation.  It was one of those films  where you can’t help but think it would work much better on stage: the action is largely limited to a small set, and it needs only a handful of actors.  While the acting is admittedly a little ropey – unsurprising, given the $200,000 budget – the story has such a fascinating concept behind it that it’s well worth watching.

In that respect, it reminded me of another seriously low-budget movie I love: the 1995 made-for-cable Harrison Bergeron.  I must have been about twelve when I first saw it, and it stayed with me for years.  The film is based on a short story by Kurt Vonnegut (read it here), and explores the possibility of a world in which everyone is finally equal.

Wondering if it would stand up to a second viewing, I decided to look it up again, hoping that in this age of BitTorrents and file sharing I might be able to get my hands on a copy.  The good news is, it’s out there, and just as enjoyable as I remembered.  The better news is, a remake is on its way: 2081.

Funded by The Moving Picture Institute, written and directed by Chandler Tuttle, it is due to be unveiled at the Sundance Film Festival this year.

I can’t wait to see what they make of it.

Leave a Reply

